Please see our COVID-19 Resource Hub.

The Ed McKinlay Poultry Worker of the Year Award

Annually, the Poultry Industry Council recognizes an individual who has made a significant contribution to the poultry industry. The award is presented to an individual who has given outstanding service to the poultry industry over the years which can include a broad range of criteria. The person may have made a significant and lasting difference, or some specific contribution, or may simply have vast networks and has maintained these over the years which as a result has moved the industry forward.

Due to the impact of COVID-19 the 2020 & 2021 recipient award presentation will be made shortly-- stay tuned!

Nominations for 2022 are open throughout the year and will close on October 31, 2022.

To nominate an individual who you feel is deserving of this prestigious honour, please provide as much information to support your nomination as possible.  Provide us with your name, company/organization/farm name, a contact email, along with your nominee’s name and contact information.  Include a succinct description of this person’s accomplishments within the poultry industry, no more than two pages long.  To download a nomination form click here.

Please submit your nominations by email to All nominations will be screened by an independent panel that then makes the final assessment and decision.

As always the successful candidate should not be aware that this is happening, so discretion is required.

Past Recipients

Please note: Recipients cannot receive this award more than once.
Names are listed alphabetically.

Recipient's Name Year Awarded
George Anderson  
Liz Black  
Debbie Carroll 2015
Jim Couse  
John Dillaine  
Ian Duncan 2012
Norm Epps  
Art Ferguson  
Doug Galt  
Ken Gartley  
Bob Guy 2018
Bob Hampson  
Keith Harron  
Jim Henry  
Brian Herman 2009
Bruce Hunter 2000
Craig Hunter 2008
Len Jewitt 2005
Dick Julian  
Doug Key  
John Lancaster  
Paul Leatherbarrow 2002
Steven Leeson 2012
Don Luckham  
Bruce Main  
James McIntosh 2014
Dave Mitchell  
Doug Morrison  
Tim Nelson 2013
Rachel Ouckama 1997
Jim Pettit  
Cynthia Phillipe  
Maurice Smith 2002
Lloyd Spencer  
Dave Stitzinger  
John Summers 2016
Conrad Van Dijk  
Lloyd Weber  
Bert West  
Bruce Winkler 1999